British Columbia and Saskatchewan ban cellphones while driving

As of today, British Columbia and Saskatchewan are the latest two Canadian provinces to ban cellphone use while driving. Like other provinces that have already made similar moves (Ontario was the last in October), drivers will only be allowed to use hands-free cellphones and devices.

If you get stopped in British Columbia, you will be given a warning during a grace period that will run for one month. In a month, a driving and talking offence will result in a CA$167 fine and texting or emailing could add on three demerit points. There is no such break in Saskatchewan where police have already started handing out tickets (a CA$280 fine and four demerit points).

British Columbia and Saskatchewan now join Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador in having cellphone bans while driving. Alberta and Yukon are also considering implementing similar bans.

Read more about this story